ISE - Integrated Skills in English

Transferable skills for study and employment

Trinity's Integrated Skills in English (ISE) is a contemporary four skills (reading, writing, speaking and listening) qualification recognised by governments and institutions as providing reliable evidence of English language proficiency.

Preparing for ISE helps develop authentic communicative and transferable skills that are required for academic study and employability, such as synthesising information, participating in interactive discussions and presenting on topics of personal interest.

Two exam modules offer flexibility

There are two exam modules - Reading & Writing and Speaking & Listening, which, depending on where you are taking the exam, can be taken together or separately when you are ready.

  • Reading & Writing modules are taken as controlled written exams in registered centres.
  • One-to-one Speaking & Listening assessments can be taken online via video conference in centres.

Mapped to the CEFR*

ISE proficiency levels are calibrated to the Common European Framework of Reference for languages (CEFR) and are available at five levels: ISE Foundation (A2), ISE I (B1), ISE II (B2), ISE III (C1), ISE IV (C2). ISE IV has a different format to ISE at CEFR levels A2-C1.

ISE table

*CEFR = Common European Framework of Reference for languages

Guides, resources and teaching materials

ISE is designed to support classroom teaching and maps easily to general English language curricula and coursework and Trinity provides a wide range of guidance and resources including coursework Schemes of Work for each level.

Reliable evidence of skills

Trinity's ISE qualifications provide individuals and institutions with reliable evidence of the use of integrated English language skills at different levels from beginner to advanced. Our ISE exams are regulated by Ofqual in the UK. They are listed on the UK's Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) and are aligned with the European Qualifications Framework (EQF).

Trinity's ISE A2-C2 exams have been awarded the ALTE Q-mark by the Association of Language Testers in Europe demonstrating that they meet strictest of quality criteria.

Recognised and accepted

ISE qualifications are used as robust evidence of English language proficiency and are recognised by an ever growing number of universities, governments and institutions around the world.

Read more about international Recognition of Trinity's English language qualifications.

“We chose Trinity ISE because
of its focus on authentic
communicative skills.”

Peter Lahiff, Academic Director
Future Learning, Ireland

欢迎来到伦敦圣三一 | Trinity College London